This is why I’m judging you.

We all judge. We have to. If we can’t judge then we can’t judge a situation as being dangerous, we have to judge a book by its cover sometimes or we might talk to someone who might do us harm.
 
What I don’t want to do, is let that get in the way of me practicing compassion and respect for someone. For me to let them do their thing, and be happy, and maybe make a friend in the process.
 
I try not to judge someone and put them in a box that they can’t get out of.
 
i try not to judge someone in a way that doesn’t allow them to show me who they truly are.
 
However, my core belief is that we should all be able to share this world with abundance in everything. I have been angry since the day I realized how much we fucked up this world, and I haven’t stopped being angry since, because to me, solitary joy and abundance is not real. If we can’t all be free, then my freedom isn’t real.
 
And I love humans. i LOVE Americans. So much more than I realized. And their pain has become my pain. And people that contribute to that pain, do get judged.
 
People that are selfish get judged.
People that are hypocritical get judged.
People that obsess over politicians and not people get judged.
People that lack compassion get judged.
White people that don’t acknowledge their racism get judged.
People that can’t open their minds to other forms of beliefs get judged.
 
Harshly. And that sometimes means you, friend.
 
That sometimes means my own family. That sometimes means finding myself alone in my head, feeling crazy and misunderstood.
 
That sometimes means being judged myself. By others. By myself. 
 
But everyone has got a moral compass, and that’s mine. The purpose of my life is to do everything to add to the goodness on this planet, and that’s how I’m doing that.

And due to me being a complicated person, I also need to know that people are going to be willing to either gently call me out when I need to be called out, or they’re going to act with humility when I call them out.

The only people that might get a pass at this type of behavior, are people who are family, and even then it’s just an adapted version of this truth.

But I’ve adapted and made myself small to fit into people’s boxes, that end up serving me not at all, and I’ve stayed quiet when people say hurtful things too many times.

There comes a moment when being disagreeable is a matter of survival, boundaries, and safety. If ya can’t handle that, then ya can’t handle me. 

What do you think?

