Decidedly unscientific.

(SeLoFest17 Post: Day 21, click here for all prompts so far)


I try to keep my friends in varied ages, social contexts, ethnicity, but that all have a common moral ground, to a certain extent. What I end up respecting the most is the moral ground, their intelligence. I pride myself in keeping company with something positive to contribute because that way I feel challenged to constantly be doing the same.

I try to be as compassionate and understanding in my listening as possible, because I feel like I have a privileged viewpoint from which to do that, and I should own it and use it to the advantage of my superpower.

I have always had a bit of a division with certain people when it comes to my spirituality and belief in magic. Many people lump spirituality, religion, and new age hooey all sort of into a mystical clump. Which does not bother me, but it does sometimes limit me in being able to share a perspective or exchange in dialogue about certain topics.

After overanalyzing the universe itself, and listening to what every greatest mind has ever said ever, pretty much we really don’t know what we’re talking about in regards to anything real because the universe is vaster than our understanding ever has been. There are unexplained mysteries, and unreliable telling and manipulating of historical facts, science manipulated by businesses, all of that through the lens of human perspective and the limits of human arrogance. So the only facts that are actual truth are the ones we make up and pretend that matter.

So because no one can be sure of anything, we can also not be unsure of anything. I rather not say I don’t believe or disbelief anything at 100%, because I don’t know, and no one can assure me that they do either.

So I choose to live believing and embracing more and more the magic within me, the brujeria I come from, which is a long path of walking down a foggy road without knowing too much where I’m going but just having faith in the humming within me that connects me to nature and the in-between concepts of our multi-layered existence.

Elizabeth Gilbert talks about magic in a way I’d like to share with you here:

“I believe that the creative process is both magical and magic. Because here is what I choose to believe about how creativity functions: I believe that our planet is inhabited not only by animals and plants and bacterias and viruses, but also by ideas. Ideas are disembodied, energetic life-form. They are completely separate from us, but capable of interacting with us –albeit strangely.” -Gilbert,Big Magic

There’s so much in between what seems like space around us that is not talked about, so many miracles that we do not realize, that we close off the part of ourselves that creates that magic. To me, that is called spirituality. Listening to the magic within you is to me, listening to your spirit, or soul. Listening to the spirit of the Universe.

Magic.

I’ve had a hard time embracing that, because the side of me that needs to be on Earth so as to help others, often times feel like I have to choose a side.

But I have been learning how to not do that, and rather understand that magic is not a side to anything, but simply what exists between everything. It is what makes life bearable, when you See.

What is the magic within you?


SeLoFest17

The prompt: What is your magic? Do you consider yourself to be open minded? Why or why not? If you do, what is something that you close your mind to and why? Explore the reasons. Think of how you may be blocking yourself. (We all do it somehow. If you don’t think you are, you are more likely than not, hiding something from yourself.)

The activity: choose an image that you can manipulate (and turn upside down)

in your journal: draw the image upside down. Here’s an explanation about the benefits of this exercise. Try to release of control of seeing everything exactly as you feel it should be. Consider the strength you could gain from it.

 

What do you think?

