Mermaid

Why do we undermine signs?
Like when people say “this means that”
And people roll their eyes like
“Well I guess. If you were looking for it.”

I was.
Looking for it.

I was having a conversation with the universe.  Sometimes it just whispers.

We say we’re
Victimized
But

We weren’t listening either
So
How much of it was maybe just us?

So I listen.

To the moon and
The sun and
The earth and
All the living things
And
Myself.

“This is a sign” the universe says. So I leap.
And leap.

And leap.

And sometimes I fall flat on my face.
But I get up and
Re
Leap.

And sometimes I fly.
Sometimes I play leapfrog.
Sometimes I fall into the ocean

but I know how to swim.
Listen.

What do you think?

