#SYHO14 Day 20: The Womb Of The Matter Is…

This is the last day of #SYHO!!

And we go back to where it all started. We’ve covered our fathers, our parents, our history, and our childhood, but we haven’t covered our mom.

I’ve spoken to you about the music that my mother listened to that influenced me, but I didn’t tell you about the music that influenced my relationship with my mom. 

In all honesty, there have been some, but not too many that have ever stuck. The song that always always makes me think of my mom, is one of the most beautiful songs that I have ever heard. 

It’s called “El Camino De La Vida” and it’s an old Colombian song. I have translated the lyrics below. 

The Path of Life
Quickly as the wind, 
the days and nights of our childhood go by
an angel cares for us
as her hands
weave hope.

Later, come the years of our youth
Games, friends, school
the soul is defined 
into who we are.
Suddenly the heart
begins to cultivate a dream
The sweetness of first love, 
sprouts forth like a spring
The soul wants to fly, 
and so it does so behind an illusion. 
And so we learn that pain
and joy
are the permanent essence of life

Then when we are two, 
seeking a similar ideal
we seek a love nest
the refuge called home
we begin another stage of our lives
a man, a woman, 
united by fate into one destiny

The fruit of our love
that God blessed,
bring joy to our home with their presence
Who do we love most, 
if not our children. 
Then how many sleepless nights
and struggles
so that they never lack what they may need
So that when they grow they may go far
and reach the happiness that is so sought after
And then as nature goes, 
life must go on
Our children wish to marry
and we must abide.
We begin another era of our lives, one that is not so unknown

Then when they part, 
some without saying goodbye,
solitude chills our hearts,
and this is why, My love, 
that I tell you once and again, 
as I ask God, that if I may reach an older age
that you reach it with me. 

God that made me feel good. I don’t know about you guys, but I’m gonna go hug my mom now. 

Thanks for participating in this with me guys! It’s been a blast, and see you for the next adventure!!!!

All my love,

Maëlle

What do you think?

