#SYHO14 – Day 8: The Unsung Hero

“It takes a village to raise a Maëlle” I’ve many times thought to myself. I don’t need a partner, I need a production team. 

When I left my house for the last time, I knew I was going to have to really break away from being a daughter for a while so that I could feel myself as an adult, know what decisions I would make if I didn’t feel like my parents were looking over my shoulder. At the same time, I was going through a painful break  up. I had also just gotten fired from a job that I felt I was doing better at. I lost the job the same day I moved out. No matter how rough the past month had been, things were about to get much worse. 

I wanted to do things alone, and independently, but caught myself reaching out for new friends, people that would maybe understand who I was, how I was. Who would be OK with my demons while I licked my wounds and learned to get better. 

What ended up happening was that I found myself a production team. I found a boy who held me and would have love conversations with me to distract me from life, as we sat on my terrace and remembered all that was good. I found a woman who would link her arm around mine and said “I got you.” And meant it. A woman whose strength I recognized within myself, who would remind me I could and would get out of this alive. Who believed in my dream to help others discover joy. 

I went into the the friends that I believed would be a good influence on me, and I did everything I could at that moment to invest in them, even if I knew that what I could give was not that much. 

<div class="sqs-video-wrapper" data-html="
” data-provider-name=”YouTube”>

Dido’s thank you for the woman who kept me believing in myself…

<div class="sqs-video-wrapper" data-html="
” data-provider-name=”YouTube”>