#LUPA Day Six: Gold Linings

(To read about and become a part of  #LUPA, start here.

There’s about a handful of sayings that I can think off the top of my head that are clever ways of saying things that seem to be basic knowledge. 

“Do unto others…” is about mutual respect, “Silence is golden” can be interpreted as the value of listening, “listen to your heart” can be about following your instinct…They are just every-day quotes that we don’t necessarily give a second thought to until it occurs to us in an epiphany and it becomes personal —experience-based wisdom. The old saying that recently snapped into focus for me was “do what you love”. 

II have been on a quest –since February 2014– to live my life “for my own good”. I was going to stop taking everyone else’s advice and listen to my own. This didn’t just mean going for my dream career, but also befriending who I wanted, living life according to my personal philosophies, and not caring if other people agreed, wanted me to, needed me not to, or thought I shouldn’t. It has not been the easiest thing to do, but it has been so rewarding. What has gotten me through it has more than the light at the end of the tunnel, and more than silver lining; it has the gold lining.

Recognizing the silver lining is seeing the positive within a challenging situation. Recognizing the gold lining is seeing the result in the process. The win in every step forward, the success in every error. 

Today, what one thing have you done towards something that fills  you with absolute joy? It can be anything, from dream career to a personal goal you have for yourself. What have you done today to get you one step closer? 

Take a photo that visually represents it. 

-xo!mj

What do you think?

